Fjords, Mountains & Cruise Ships | A week in Norway

I’ve not been on a proper holiday for years. Once my sister and I reached the age of going to university and fending for ourselves, invites to family holidays soon decreased, eventually down to a big fat zero. However, out of the blue earlier this year, my parents casually slipped into conversation that they were considering a cruise to Norway, and asked if I would like to join them. After about 1.5 seconds of thinking about it, of course my answer was yes!

So July came around, and off we went, tootling down the road with our suitcases in toe, down to the ship. I feel like cruises are something young people often turn their noses up at, with the stereotype of them leaving you trapped on a boat full of elderly people, with nothing to do. I’m sure at some point in time it was possibly like that, but today’s cruising reality couldn’t be further from it. With bars, theatres, cinemas and pools, there’s not a minute where you find yourself with nothing to do. You find yourself on what feels like a little world in the middle of the sea, with no boats or land as far as the eye can see, in a place far away from the reality of home, with way better phone signal too (I could get full phone signal in the middle of the North Sea, but have to stick my arm in the air next to a window at home to get a single bar of the stuff- madness!). Sounds like heaven if you ask me!

Anyway, our cruise took us up the Fjords of Norway for a week, and I have fully concluded that Norway is one of the most beautiful places I’ve had the pleasure of visiting. If I wasn’t such a city person, I’d say a quiet life living in the Norwegian mountains wouldn’t be too shabby at all. I spent much of my week stood (admittedly in the freezing cold!) on mountain tops just taking in the incredible natural beauty of the world that we live in, and as corny as that sounds, I have no shame in saying I enjoyed every second of it.

But as they say, a picture speaks 1000 words, so I’ll stop with the rambling and let them do the talking..

IMG_20150801_142704 IMG_20150810_164239

IMG_20150810_165124 IMG_20150810_165348

IMG_20150810_170126 IMG_20150810_165641

IMG_20150810_165942 IMG_20150810_164655

xoxo

Leave a comment