Contour with Confidence | Sleek Contouring and Blush Palette

I’m actually writing this instead of learning my presentation for my teaching interview tomorrow, but I thought that my blog needed a little bit of lovin’, and I felt that sharing this little product with you was a perfect way to do this (and procrastinate as well…)!

I’ve always found the whole contouring thing to be a bit of a pain in the backside. The idea of Kim K’s super chizzled cheekbones contoured to the high heavens to me feels like a ridiculous amount of effort, and well, it’d look quite frankly ridiculous on me. However, contouring has always left me a little curious, but I’ve always been a bit weary of giving it a go. Being super pale has its benefits and its drawbacks, and in this case I saw it as a drawback- all contour kits I’ve seen in the past have been super dark, and would literally leave me looking like I’ve just draw dark lines all over my face- something far removed from the more natural look I try to focus on achieving on a daily basis with my makeup.

This kit was something I came across after scouring the internet for what felt like hours, and after looking through reviews on fellow blogs, I decided this might just do the job for me!

20150111_125606  20150111_125509

20150111_134012

Can I just say, firstly, the packaging. This product, for a lower end product retailing at £9.99 has the NICEST packaging. It really is ‘sleek’ in more ways than one, and feels like more of a higher end product just looking at it. The compact comes with a neat little mirror- perfect for touch ups on the move, and the simple design of the 3 products sat nicely side-by-side in the palette makes this a really lovely (and easy) product to use.

20150111_125628  20150111_125659

So, down to the nitty gritty. I bought the product in the lightest shade, and this is the perfect colour even for me- someone with skin quite possibly as white as snow. The contour powder is a lovely, natural colour, and is really buildable. I tend to go for a more subtle look, but if you really wanted to go full out statement contouring, then this product would still do the job nicely for you. The powder applies beautifully on the skin, and it has great staying power. If I’m honest, I looked into this product purely for the contouring powder- the other two palette components were just nice little bonuses for me.

20150111_125746

The highlighter does provide a nice level of shimmer- I’ve only been using it to highlight my cheekbones at the moment. It’s not the best highlighter I’ve come across in my life if I’m totally honest, but it does provide a good, subtle level of highlight, enough to maintain a more natural look if that’s what you’re going for. The blush is a really, really lovely colour. I’d probably describe it as almost a rose gold kind of pink blush colour, but it works so well on my pale skin and provides a nice level of warm colour to the apples of my cheeks.

It looks like this product is not only sleek by name, but sleek by nature. If you’re looking for a handy contouring companion for an everyday subtle, natural look, I’d absolutely recommend this product to you.

Have you got any contouring products that you would recommend?

xoxo

14 thoughts on “Contour with Confidence | Sleek Contouring and Blush Palette

  1. I bought this palette in December because i’ve been looking for a good budget matte bronzer and I was so suprised at how good it is! I think the pigmentation is good for the price but I agree with you that it is a more natural ‘day look’ palette. I really want to try some more Sleek bronzers now!

    Like

  2. I really love the contouring palette by Urban Decay. I am rather fair skinned regardless of the time of year which makes contouring with bronzer quite tricky. But I think the bronzer is dark enough to contour without that dirty look, the highlighter is stunning, and the blush is a subtle touch of color that last for ages!

    Like

  3. Pingback: New Year, New Feature – Introducing Monthly Favourites | thatenglishrose

Leave a comment