Back to University. And I’m a Finalist. Help!

20140919_112428

So today marks the last day of being at home before I head off and move back into uni for the final time. That thought is literally so scary to me, that I can’t even bring myself to fully think about it. Only a matter of months ago when I was half way through my second year I faced what I liked to call my ‘mid-degree crisis’ when I had the BIGGEST meltdown over the fear of the end of my time at university and actually having to become a fully-fledged adult and do something productive with my life.

But this last day that has become an annual occasion is also known to me as the day of panic. I’m the kind of person who will be dying to pack all of my stuff weeks before I actually leave, but then put it off for as long as possible because ‘I don’t want to pack anything I might still need’. Turns out I’ve apparently needed literally everything that should be packed away ready to stick in the car tomorrow. Chances are I probably haven’t touched any of it for weeks. I hate myself sometimes…

It is impossible to sift stuff for university down to a minimum. The number of times I get nagged by my parents for taking too much stuff away I probably couldn’t count on my hand, but they don’t understand, I’m literally moving there and living there. Of course I need all of my belongings with me. I go to university pretty much half way across the country from where I actually live, and I’m sure anyone else in this same situation will understand the trauma that comes with only being able to take a single car load of stuff with you because the drive is too long to repeat more than once.

I guess this is where my hatred of packing stems from. It’s all rainbows and sunshine until you put it all together and realise the sheer volume of stuff you’re planning on taking with you. This is the point where my mum usually walks into the room, looks at the amount of stuff I’ve accumulated, says a swear word that I’m not going to repeat, then walks out. I’m going to need some sort of miracle to fit all of this in the car tomorrow. Can’t wait for the arguments that come with this to ensue…

Anyone else simply hate packing?!

xoxo

Leave a comment