New Way to Wash Your Hair?

I’ve always been one to stick to the same thing when it comes to my hair routine. I’m the kind of person who will find the thing that works for me and just stick to it, because well, I know I can never go wrong with it. However, my Mum of all people actually told me about this tip she read a while ago, and I thought I’d give it a go. After all, what’s the worst that could happen?

So the tip I was told of was to wash your hair with conditioner before shampooing it. When I first heard about it, it seemed almost ridiculous to me. It would be like putting your shoes on before you put on your socks. It just didn’t feel right. But still, I went with it, putting on my conditioner from root to tip and leaving it on for a few minutes before washing it out and doing my normal shampooing. I should probably point out that I have straight/ slightly wavy hair of medium thickness, and I find that it often goes pretty flat when I leave it to dry naturally.

At first I couldn’t really understand what sort of a difference this could make to my hair, but since doing it I’ve noticed that my hair is noticeably so much more soft and silky after each wash, and actually feels lighter so is more voluminous. Although this still feels slightly wrong to me, and I do still automatically go to grab my shampoo straight away in the shower, I think this order to washing hair is something I’m going to continue doing. It’s crazy that something as simple as switching your shampoo and conditioner order around can actually make a difference to your hair!

If you give this a go, or do it already, I’d love to know your thoughts!

xoxo

Leave a comment